hi.

I have not posted in a few days due to dental PAIN and getting my save the dates yesterday. I hand wrote the addresses on most of them last night, have just a few more to do and am contemplating cutting my hand off. My handwriting itself went from very nice to blah in about 10 envelopes. Maybe tonight will be better. As for the quality of my Wedding Paper Divas save the dates… I wish that the ink didn’t look so computer-y (is that a word) but for the price, they are very nice. Honestly though, if I had had the time, I could have done em better. So I am contemplating DIY’ing our invites; we need to cut back on spending for the wedding and that’s an easy couple hundred, whereas I could purchase paper and use my printer to achieve almost the same affect for chump change and my time. My time, which seems to be slipping away from me may be better spent doing other wedding stuff, but I’m not sure if I can justify paying for cut cardstock and a computer printer no matter how nice the design is.

I’m also DIY’ing our centerpieces as you know from my last post. I picked up a bunch of fish gravel for some vases I purchased at the thrift store and wasn’t too happy with the look. While browsing at Michael’s I found a book of wedding crafts and peeked at it, finding an idea for napkin rings I have almost finished. It involved tools I already owned (wire cutters and some other wire bending apparatus) and was really fun to do. I will post a picture when I get time to upload from my camera. Having that almost done is encouraging and I came up with an idea to use the same concept for our centerpieces. I tested three of them and I’m really happy with the way it came out, so we will see what I can pull off in less than four months. It will save a LOT of money to do these myself even if I have to ship them on island.

We also booked our photographer off of craigslist. She’s based in Portland and was having a destination wedding sale. Her photos have a very editoral look which is what Ok and I wanted and we are really excited to be working with her. She’s been published in a variety of places and is only charging for one night hotel. Her price beats some of the photogs on island and her experience and the quality of work is much higher, in my opinion.

Today I need to contact the caterer and work on group hotel rates for the guests. I don’t think the group rates will mean much considering it is the off-season and everything is ridiculously cheap for St Thomas– I mean these prices more than double in December. We will try to get everyone to stay on one side of the island, the BEST side, my side, the East End.

And with memories of Hi Ho Market on Smith Bay Road in my head, I’m off to work to save the world.

Leave a Reply

