The Centerpiece Trials

Okay, I admit it. I am obsessed with finding the perfect centerpiece. Something has cracked in my brain and made me crazy. I went back to Ikea only this time, with this simple, stunning book on wedding design. It has been the best purchase I have made so far, and it helped me realize what’s important in a centerpiece: simplicity.

I present to you, Centerpiece One of my new trials:
table-big-view.jpg

table-side-view.jpg

table-close-up-vase-candle.jpg

table-close-up-dish-holder.jpg

table-top-view.jpg

table-close-up-vase.jpg

The green platter came from Ikea– I got 10 to be on the safe side. $2.99/each. The flower petals in the vase also from Ikea. $2.50 a pack and I used not even a quarter of the pack. Candles, Ikea also, though I cannot remember how much they cost. Votive holder, $1.29 for a pack of 4. I want to put two votive holders with candles in front of each place setting. Don’t mind my construction paper placemats, I just wanted to have the illusion of an orange tablecloth, which is the color I want. Also not to be minded is the paper towel napkins– again , this is for the illusion, people! The big center vase was $2.99 from Michael’s. I will grand total this up eveuntally, but I still think it is cheaper than whatever my wedding planner quoted me and it fits Ok and I more than anything she has offered so far.

What do you think?

3 Comments »

  1. GB said

    The vase seems too tall next to the votive candles… a smaller vase or bigger candles may be… also did you try some rose petals on the plate?

  2. Sabrina said

    If you like the cute flower favors you pictured below, you should check out the tissue paper flowers on the Martha Stewart site. They are so cute and cheap, since you only have to buy tissue paper. You can also buy favor boxes & other supplies for amazingly cheap prices at http://www.koyal.com and http://www.save-on-crafts.com.

  3. Mel Utz said

    How did you get the petals to stop floating? Or do they just sink when they get soaked?

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

